5 Different Types of Champagne

5 Different Types of Champagne

Champagnes are of different types. Although they share specific traits, there still exist important differences between each type. Real and authentic champagne is produced only in France and is made in a specific manner that involves fermenting twice to create the bubbles. Champagnes produced in other regions of the world are actually referred to as sparkling wine. Read further to learn the different types of champagne.

1. Vintage/Non-vintage

The term “vintage” is used to refer to the year in which grapes used in the making of the champagne were grown. Champagne that is made from grapes of the same year is the drink with the highest quality and is specifically referred to as Prestige Cuvee. Not every year can be a vintage year. The vintage years are those when grapes and harvest were exceptional. Vintage champagnes are matured for at least three years before they are brought to the market. Prestige Cuvee accounts for 1% of French consumption of champagne. Non-vintage, on the other hand refers to the champagne made from grapes that are grown in different years but blended together.

2. Brut/Doux

Champagne is also classified depending upon the levels of dryness/sweetness. Brut is dry and less sweet and the sweetest kind is called doux. Decreasing levels of sweetness is directly proportional to increasing levels of dryness. However, dry champagne is generally preferred over the sweeter ones. Brut natural is the driest of champagnes. Sec and demi sec are the sweeter ones. Brut accounts for the largest share of champagnes produced in the region.

3. Blanc de blancs

Champagnes are also classified depending upon the nature of grapes that go into the making of the drink. White chardonnay grapes are used in the making of blanc de blancs also meaning white of whites. It is the more common of champagnes. Blanc de blancs are light and fresh.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply