7 Things to Know About the Chinese Zodiac

7 Things to Know About the Chinese Zodiac

The Chinese Zodiac is also known as “Sheng Xiao” in Chinese. The Chinese calendar starts from 2637 B.C. which is supposed to be the year in which the Chinese Emperor name “Huangdi” created it. This calendar allocates years in the cycle of 60. It is a complex arrangement presenting astrological and terrestrial “forces” guiding it. The five forces namely Earth, Fire, Water, Metal and Earth; the Polar counterparts of Yin and Yan; stones (precious and semi-precious); directions ( North, East, West and South); seasons, months and hours( 12 year periods) form an integral part of the Chinese predictions. Let’s look at some facts about the Chinese Zodiac.

1. Year of birth does not signify age

According to Chinese astrology, the year of the birth does not represent age, it represents a certain aspect or phase of a sixty year cycle time. It is based on a 12 year cycle.

2. Each of the 12 years has a designated animal sign

Since each year is designated an animal sign, there are twelve animals, namely – rat, dragon, monkey, ox, pig, snake, tiger, horse, rabbit, sheep, rooster and dog.

3. The Chinese zodiac represents how you are perceived

Each animal sign enlivens the year and influences it with its distinct nature. The animal sign assigned by year represents how people perceive you and how you present yourself in front of others.

4. The Chinese Zodiac represents facets of your personality

Everyone has different characteristics when in the workplace, when with family, when with friends and even in solace. Chinese Zodiac signs justify these elements too – as they have different animals for one person assigned on the basis of month, day and hour they are born in. So there are inner animals, true animals, secret animals.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply